Simple Homemade Artisan Bread

I found this awesome artisan bread recipe online, and I wanted to try it out for my mom’s birthday dinner. It was a hit, and maybe the best part is that one recipe creates ~3 loaves (depending on how big you make the loaves). My dad asked for my recipe (because he doesn’t Pinterest), and I thought…what the heck. Let’s make it a blog post.

Here’s the recipe:

Step 1: combine:

3 C warm tap water

1.5 Tbsp dry, active yeast – (If you use packets, I used 2 and it worked well)

1.5 Tbsp sea salt or coarse salt

Mix first three ingredients until salt and yeast are mostly dissolved. Add:

6.5 C all-purpose flour

Step 2: Cover; let rise for ~2 hours in a warm place. After rising, you can stick it in an airtight container the in the fridge, or you can skip Step 3 and go straight to Step 4 (baking).

Step 3: When you pull it out of the fridge, let sit until brought to 25°C (room temperature), about 40 minutes.

Step 4: Shape into the shape you want, and slightly smaller than the size you want. For design, you can run the tip of a knife as stripes through the dough to create the cracked-opening look.

Step 5: Preheat oven with pizza stone. Place a pie-tin of water on the lower rack to create steam. Bake @ 450°F for 30 minutes.

Step 6: Enjoy.

 

Notes:

  • I usually completely omit salt from my recipes. However, for bread, I thought it would add something, so I gave it a sprinkling. It was by no means 1.5 tablespoons, though.
  • I let dough rise the way my momma taught me: Set the oven to preheat (or, if you’re not baking, set it to something low – 250-300) and leave the oven door open a crack. Place the bowl on the oven (between the front 2 burners). Wet a clean dish towel and cover the bowl. Wet fabric lets the heat through – this is why we only use dry hot pads to take things out of the oven!
  • I did not preheat my pizza stone, nor did I add a pie-tin of water to create steam. It still turned out delicious, but for my third loaf, I am going to try the water trick. I will let you know how it goes.

I love you all!

Image

 

By Crafty Scientists

Leave a Reply

